Massachusetts laws are strict and intimidating while it comes to penalties related to underage drunk drivers. The laws impose grave charges if someone drives a vehicle under alcohol influence. In the USA, drivers under 21 are considered underage and can face harsh punishments if charged with OUI/DUI. The punishments include fines, fees, possible jail period or license suspensions.
What happens if DUI charges are imposed against you when you’re under 21?
If you’re under 21, then you need to be aware of the Massachusetts laws concerning the underage drunk driving and the possibility of imposing DUI and OUI against you:
The state follows 2 sets of laws for underage drivers-
You can shorten your suspension period by consulting an experienced MA OUI Lawyer. However, remember that you can still win the court trial even after failing the breathalyzer test as the stipulated BAC level in criminal courts is 0.08%. The license suspension period and amount of fine increase with the growing number of charges.
Dual BAC Amounts
When a driver is 21 or above or under, the legal BAC amount remains 0.08%. But the Zero Tolerance policy of the state has fixed at BAC amount of 0.02%.
The sober operation amount for legal drivers is 0.05% or less. But underage drivers don’t enjoy this facility. Therefore, prosecutors can charge a case against an underage driver even with a BAC amount of 0.05%.
DUI Consequences/Penalties for Under 21 Drivers in RMV (Registry of Motor Vehicles) Case
Under the RMV laws, a driver can face serious penalty charges in case of refusal or failure in the breathalyzer test if the bac (blood-alcohol content) amount is more than 0.02%.
Your driving license can be suspended for at least 30 days, with the suspension period being increased on proved guilty.
Generally, the underage drivers face license suspension for 90 days. However, you can minimize the period by enrolling in alcohol abuse rehabilitation programs.
DUI Blood Test Refusal Consequences for Underage Drivers
The penalties can be as severe as 10 years of license suspension or complete revocation of the license.
In case you win the DUI case, then RMV suspension can be removed.
Young drivers face a longer suspension period. The suspension period adds extra days with the negligence of enrollment in a Youth Alcohol Program (YAP).
Massachusetts DUI Lawyer Can Help You
Go ahead and consult the experienced MA OUI/DUI lawyer, Amit Singh of Singhlaw4U to settle for the least harsh charges or to avoid the DUI conviction entirely. For further help in your OUI/DUI issue, contact on 508-342-5551 or write to firstname.lastname@example.org.